Taranaki Racing Awards

Press Release One

We are thrilled to announce a new look Taranaki Racing Awards for 2018, including a wider range of awards, covering both horses and members of the racing community.

Ride Of The Year at Pukekura Raceway
A single ride stand out ride by a jockey, not necessarily a winner 

Most Wins By Any Trainer at Pukekura Raceway (2017–2018) 

Most Wins By A Taranaki Trainer at Pukekura Raceway (2017–2018) 

Most Wins By A Jockey at Pukekura Raceway (2017–2018) 

People’s Choice Award Horse Nomination Form
The locally trained horse that has captured your heart and/or imagination
We invite nominations from the local racing community from 1 to 24 July 2018.
The winner will be chosen by a public vote from 25 July to 15 August 2018. 

Performance Of The Year Nomination Form
A single outstanding performance by a horse during the season. Fastest 600m, new record at Pukekura Raceway, coming from last to win, etc.
We invite nominations from the local racing community from 1 to 24 July 2018. A judging panel of racing industry officials will choose a winner. 

Horse Of The Year
•        2 year old
•        3 year old
•        Sprinter/Miler
•        Stayer
•        Winter Galloper/Jumper 

The winning horse from each of the above categories is eligible to win Horse Of The Year, and the winner is chosen by the Taranaki Racing board.

Steward Recognition Award 2018
Nominated and chosen by the Taranaki Racing Stewards 

Owner Of The Year
An owner who shows an outstanding level of support to Taranaki Racing, their trainer, and their horse/s. Nominations will be made by all Pukekura Raceway trainers. 

Outstanding Supporter Award 2018
A sponsor who has shown outstanding contribution support to Taranaki Racing
Finalists and winner chosen by Taranaki Racing board 

Story Of The Year Nomination Form
Send us your racing related anecdote, three of the best, as selected by the Taranaki Racing board, will be ‘retold’ during the awards and the winner will be decided by way of a vote, on the night, by the attendees.
Entries are open 1 to 24 July 2018. 

The three public nomination categories have a nomination form to help you with the format of the submission.

The nomination period is open from the 1st of July, and closes at midnight on the 24th of July. Finalists will be notified as early as possible after nominations close.

A link to the voting website will be published once finalists have been confirmed.

Any questions or to submit a nomination please email Sonya events@taranakiracing.co.nz

Editor -
Monday 25 June 2018