Taranaki Racing Awards 2018

The 6th annual Taranaki Racing Awards were held last evening in the La Mer Lounge at Pukekura Raceway

The recently retired Kawi was a clear crowd favourite, and with four wins allowed ample opportunity for his many owners to honour him.

A change of format, and some new categories saw the event well attended.

A full list of the winners is below

Ride Of The Year at Pukekura Raceway – Rosie Myers

Most Wins By Any Trainer at Pukekura Raceway (2017–2018) - Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman

Most Wins By A Taranaki Trainer at Pukekura Raceway (2017–2018) – Allan Sharrock

Most Wins By A Jockey at Pukekura Raceway (2017–2018) – Masa Tanaka

People’s Choice Award Horse – Kawi

Local Performance Of The Year - Kawi

2 year old Horse of the Year - London Express

3 year old Horse of the Year - Blanco Belle

Sprinter/Miler Horse of the Year – Kawi

Stayer Horse of the Year - Ladies First

Winter Galloper/Jumper Horse of the Year – Rosewood

Taranaki Racing Horse Of The Year 2018 - Kawi

Owners Of The Year
Craig Thorburn
Roy Daniels

Outstanding Supporter Award
Paul Spiers
Andrew Castles
Stephen Parkes

Three horse were also formally inducted into the Taranaki Racing Legends Lounge
La Mer
Rough Habit
Shez Sinsational

Congratulations to all the winners.

Editor -
Saturday 15 September 2018