Press Release | Naki Challenge

1st May 2018 

Taranaki Racing Inc. today announced that confirmed slot holders for the $101,000 Naki Challenge to be run at Pukekura Raceway on Saturday 25th August 2018. Naming Rights to the race will be announced on the 21st of July. The other major race on the day is the $50,000 ITM Interprovincial. 

Club CEO, Carey Hobbs, has been delighted with support and commitment from within the industry. “This is a New Zealand first and we are delighted to announce the fourteen parties who can each race a horse in the New Zealand’s richest Special Condition Maiden.

Slot holders are

  1. Team Rogerson
  2. Ascot Bloodstock
  3. Kaipikari Thoroughbreds
  4. Fortuna Syndications
  5. Sir Patrick & Lady Justine Hogan
  6. Lindsay Racing
  7. Rick Hill Racing
  8. Dominator Doors Timaru
  9. Kamada Park
  10. The Oaks Stud
  11. Connors Family Racing
  12. Pee Gee Bloodstock
  13. Platinum Homes Consortium
  14. G Brick Racing

These fourteen parties are the only people who can have a horse in the $101,000 event which is for Maiden Horses (no wins) at 9.00am on the 1st of June 2018. Any owners of horses who run well after this date and wish their horse to run in the high stakes event must come to a commercial arrangement with one of the fourteen slot holders. In fact, two slot are already in negotiation, to see them transferred to the new owners.

In closing Hobbs added “This is a new chapter in New Zealand racing, roll on the 1st of June, and we will start to see horses that may be competitive in the 25th of August race.

Editor -
Tuesday 1 May 2018